Euro 2021

Andrew Shen '23, Staff Writer

 The Euro Cup is the second biggest soccer tournament in the world. Occurring every 4 years, only the World Cup exceeds it in size. Originally, the highly anticipated Euro Cup was set to have its first kick-off in the summer of 2020, however, COVID-19 has pushed Euro 2020 back a year to 2021. Despite the time set back, the 24 teams will still play across 12 host cities in the biggest festival of football in the world this year. The Euro 2021, will celebrate its 60th birthday across 12 amazing cities in Europe, ranging from Amsterdam in the Netherlands to Baku in Azerbaijan, and to Saint Petersburg in Russia.

 The tournament begins with a qualifying process that includes 55 countries. One game was particularly tight, with Scotland just able to eliminate Serbia in a penalty shootout to join England and Wales in the group draws. 

Group A: Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales

Group B: Belgium, Russia, Denmark, Finland

Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Scotland

Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Slovakia

Group F: Germany, France, Portugal, Hungary

 The first kickoff to mark the beginning of the tournament will occur on Friday 11th of June in Rome between Italy and Turkey. 

 Even if you don’t really like watching soccer, you should really watch the games between England and Croatia, and Germany and France. All four countries have shown good results and great skill in past tournaments, guaranteeing an absolutely phenomenal matchup.